Just Ride

Your motorcycle roars to life beneath me, and this road stretches out through time. The mountains rise out of the horizon ahead, promising new possibilities. All of the days of your life pave the road behind us.

I can see you now - only 14, a rebel without a cause, speeding down a road like this one toward a new life. How many times did you find solace on roadways and runways since then? The open highway has a way of meeting you where you're at and taking you where you want to go. An open throttle can give you power when you feel you have none; the wind in your hair mirrors your elation when you feel like you're flying. It's in your blood, this wild abandon; it's in my blood. One day will my own daughter find her eternal soul on this open road?

For now, I gaze over the handlebars and see your steady hands guiding us on.

This is freedom. We are free, now.

Don't leave me now,
Don't say goodbye,


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host