Words

What would you say if you knew you only have one week left to hear someone's voice?

There is a sense of mourning surrounding this change. I am suddenly overcome with the urge to record everything you say to me, and I finally understand the amateur filmmaker with his camcorder filled with family movies.

Although I will be able to talk to you after, I feel pressured to have all the important conversations in this precious, all-too-fleeting window during which you can speak back. I need to atone for my sins against our relationship, express my deep love and gratitude, beg to hear old stories I've heard a thousand times before.

I am not ready for this week ahead.

Tears have carved salty paths deep into my cheeks, and they sting as they fall.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host