arms tonite

I could really live here, i think.
It is comfortable like the arms of an old lover you never fell out of love with.
The city lights of skyscrapers against the river are more romantic to me than starlight, and there is something exhilarating about the open sky and vast prairie and reaching mountains that inspires ambition. Life, life, this is life. This is now.
I can identify this city by the way it feels after the rain in summer, by the way the sun rise spills light over the land, by the way the moon feels overhead. I know the heartbeat of this city like the heartbeat of a lover I spent too many nights sleeping against.
And the thought of reuniting with that lover is pulling me ever back to Halifax. I crave the sensation of being in the same room, like a drug. To touch him is to feel life coursing through my body, to kiss him is to transcend bliss.
To leave Halifax forever is to risk losing him for real.
Calgary will always be here for me, with its roads and its rivers and its mountains, to cradle me when lovers leave (and oh, how they leave).
Where do we go from here?

You tell me, lover.

And everything that I said I'd do,
make the world brand new,
take the time for you,
I just got lost and slept right through the dawn,
and the world spins madly on.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host