Lost in the Valley

Big sky, open sun
early morning, day begun.
will the end of this mess ever come?
forever my love goes on and on,
forever my love goes on and on.


So I will take my time and see,
and know in my mind that you love me.
Until you know what you must choose,
you're so hard to hold on to,
but that's what I have to do.

When you love, you learn your lessons deep,
when it hurts, you've got those tears to weep.
What we want most won't come cheap,
when you love, you learn your lessons deep.

It's funny, how our lives shape themselves around loving another. What compels us to love unconditionally, absorbing the abuse another sends into the world? We take them into our arms while they seethe with anger, while they writhe with inner turmoil, and we say, It's all right, lover. Give those things to me, I don't mind. Let me take them from you so that you might sleep sounder at night, with sweeter dreams. Let me take them so that you might walk down the sidewalk on a cold day and marvel at the brightness of the sunshine. I will bear all of these troubles for you, because I love you. Darling, it's all right, because I love you and I will make sure everything is all right and not one tear need ever roll down your wonderful cheek.

But the tears roll down our cheeks unchecked, and our tender loving care goes unbalanced. Yes, the ones we love will always be the ones to hurt us the most. And, at the end of the day, we will beg them to stay.

Soul mate, you don't know how lovely you are,
but you know how lovely we are, and how sweet this is, and at the end of the day, I will kneel upon the earth that has given us these intertwining lives and offer you everything, for as long as we both shall live.

Big sky, open sun.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host