A day like today

Today is one of those beautiful Haligonian autumnal days when the sky is big and blue and reminiscent of my prairie home, and the air is crisp and smells like the salt sea and leaves from my childhood Septembers. One of those Haligonian days when everyone is a King's student. I took myself to breakfast at my favourite cafe and bought myself a Globe and Mail and sat among the leaves reading about the latest happenings, and thought of Amy and Leilani and how much I miss them. They would have liked a day like today.
The harbour is blueblueblue and from my windows I can see from the North End to the Passage and all the colours in between.
I am reminded on days like today what it means to be independent, and I find myself planning a solo getaway. And yet,
Oh, and yet.
On a day like today, I want to fall
in love.
For the first time every time, for the last time as long as we both shall live. On a day like today, I want to get down on one knee and ask you to make me the luckiest woman alive. On a day like today, I want to walk down the street holding hands, leaves twirling about our feet, and read books next to the statue of Churchill. And yet, and yet.
And so I will spend a day like today alone, and yet,
I know that I have everything.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host