On Grief

You never really see a broken heart coming. But I have watched this broken heart careening toward me since the day I was born, slowly, like a tidal wave that started on the other side of the world. It speeds up now, soon I will know the precise date it will crash down upon my shores and lay waste my cities.

Grief washes over me unexpectedly now from time to time. Sometimes a quick splash when I'm at work; sometimes I'm grocery shopping and I'm drowning. It feels complex and unique, primal and universal. So long and drawn out that I carry it with me through the mundane days of my life. I will carry this immense love and sadness forever, in the bones and the heart that you gave me.

i carry your heart with me (i carry it in my heart)

I am preparing for the flood.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host