Sat nam

Lately there are things that I hide from you. Words I yearn to speak, to type; a voice aching to be heard. I'm watching you try to retreat from the parts of the world that scare you a little, the parts that are volatile, the parts beyond your control. I'm watching you get lost in logistics and details, watching you lose sight of the forest for the trees.
Don't you wish life were simpler? you asked me. But I don't understand the question. You may as well wish birds not to fly, the starts not to shine, my heart not to love you. I can only imagine a simpler life as an inevitable precursor to a life complex and wild. A simple life has never existed, my love. And what are we living for, if not for love? How bright can our fleeting existence burn without passion?

When I die, my body will not be a tomb for all the words I never said. Sat nam, truth is my identity. I am an expression of human truth: in every feeling that fills my soul, every sublime sight that leaves me breathless. I am of the earth that I ingest to build the cells of my body. I am my strong muscles bearing weight, my flying limbs as I run, the sweat and the grit of work. I am my vulnerability in front of my peers, and the act of compassion toward my fellows. I am the will to go on. I am truth, sat nam.

What is it that you see when you look at me, what is my truth in your eyes? Do you know that I am wild and raw?

Lately there are things that I hide from you. These are the questions that burn in my mind. What are you running from, love? What are the thoughts entombed in your body? What are the words for your love, and how does your heart appreciate mine?


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host