Stars

There are parts of my soul frozen in time, frozen in moments with you. I relive words and motions, weather and sensations, over and over. And are you there with me? I can't help but wonder if you have long moved on from moments that, to me, were so pivotal, so poignant. So enduring.

I remember the first time I knew. You walked me home. I remember your long grey overcoat, I remember your black leather gloves. I have been standing with you on that street corner ever since, with gently falling snow softly illuminated by the incandescence of street lamps. I came back for you that night the way you would later come back for me as my plane touched down.

That summer of airport hellos, you tucked me in as I finally slipped into sleep after such a long night. I remember your lips and your promises - oh, how they have haunted me ever since. I had no idea what fresh hell would await me in the morning, no idea of how my life would suddenly change so irrevocably.

I lost you that year. I lost you, and part of me has been mourning ever since.

Driving in my car with the stars shining through the open window above me, with music swirling through my head, all of these moments feel so fresh. And as I careen homeward, I can't help but wonder if you are looking up at the same stars.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host