Departure

I felt the city shift as you left, last night. I felt the molecules move to fill the spaces left behind as your plane took off, felt the lives rearrange to accommodate your absence.

I felt my life rearrange to accommodate your absence. I hadn't realised just how long it had been since I had felt your presence. I remember now what it is that I've been missing. Missing, since the first day we boarded our separate planes and headed East. Missing, long after I Came Home only to remember that you weren't coming too.


The truth is, I miss the airports.
I miss travelling alone, in the parallel universe of bleary-eyed travellers. Where time does not exist, we drink espresso under a high moon and cocktails as the sun begins to rise.
I miss the arrivals.

When I think of you, I think of airports and all the ways I love you dearly.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host