2010

When you least expect it, a magical person walks into your life and changes everything.
And it is only when we have truly learned the lessons from our past that we can look out through our newly-enlightened eyes and see the shimmer of new opportunities.

As the New Year approaches, we find time to reflect on the Old Year. How did we get here? What did we learn?

I began this year as a woman who had just let go of the two biggest crosses she was bearing: the deadweight of an important relationship, and a passionless career path. Free of these burdens, I rose to greet the day with nothing to lose. Or so I thought.

But, as the days went by, I lost the negative influences in my life. I lost the judgemental acquaintances, the stressful lovers, the draining friendships, the transient city, the poisonous job. I lost the apprehension and jadedness developed in response to a love lost. I lost the excessive cortisol and the illnesses that followed.

And the spaces filled with harmonious friendships, golden career opportunities, and the glorious beauty of life.

Three hundred and forty-eight days later, I was a woman with no crosses to bear; whole, serene. I regret nothing, for every step brought me to this very moment. And, in that particular moment, the steps of a magical person brought him into my life,
and now we walk a path lined with pennies from heaven.

Here's to love, and all that is done in its name.
Here's to looking for adventure, and whatever comes our way.

Here's to every day of the rest of our lives, and all that we will find.

Here's to you and me.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host