Nights like Tonight

On nights like tonight, when the air is cool and still and the moon is pale and soft, I find myself thinking of you.
I sense you around every corner. I feel you in my bones.

On nights like tonight, you would be standing there in your grey wool coat. Your hands, in soft leather gloves, would be resting easily at your sides - no, stuffed uncertainly into pockets. Or maybe I'm the only one who's still uncertain, here. And you would have that look on your face, the one I know so well. It says, Oh, Serena.
And my own gaze would reply, How did we get here?

And, in this parallel universe where so often we meet, you would wrap your arms around me, and your heartbeat would steady me.
There are no words left; we've said them all.


Yes, on nights like tonight, I will turn a corner and your essence will wash over me and I will linger, stunned. But tonight,

I'll walk right on by.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host