It's all over now, Harbour-blue

I got moving on my mind
I found shelter
In some thoughts turning wheels around
I said 39 times that I love you
to the beauty I had found


I blame this on the sea.
I find comfort in topography. The mountains, they were unyielding and constant, massive and protective - the way a god should be massive and protective. But the sea,
the sea is an illusion, constant but constantly changing. The tides ebb and flow, bringing waves of globe-circumventing molecules. I can walk into the water and touch my toes to my motherland.
Is it any wonder to feel so transient in a place like this?
I blame it on the sea.

I been thinking
of a little place down by the harbour
they got a dirty little road leading up to the house
I wonder how long it will take till we're alone
sitting on the front porch of that home
stomping our feet on the wooden boards
always gotta worry about locking the door

It might sound silly
For me to think childish thoughts like these
But I'm so tired of acting tough, I'm gonna do what I please


It feels so far away, that fork in the road between runway and seaman. I fell in love with the Halifax I saw through his eyes, and now I see that Halifax every time I gaze out from my window up in the sky. As long as I stay here, I am bound to that vision, and my eyes are as tired as my heart is sore.
But oh, how divine to realise that one can come and go as one pleases!
It's so easy to let this seaside town reel you in.
Time to rip out the hook.

All your seasick sailors, they are rowing home
Your empty handed armies, are all going home
Your lover who just walked out the door
Has taken all his blankets from the floor
The carpet, too, is moving under you
And it's all over now, Baby Blue.

Leave your stepping stones behind,
something calls for you
Forget the dead you've left, they will not follow you
The vagabond who's rapping at your door
Is standing in the clothes that you once wore
Strike another match, go start anew
And it's all over now, Baby Blue.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host