Get down, look up.

With a tired face
he cleaned things up
he picked things up
and went on home
every thursday

she was out of place
she did her hair
walked down the stairs
and met her friends


Halifax is a wonderful place to get the sea-legs of your adulthood. I wake up every morning ninety-eight meters in the sky, but I can sink down to sea-level and squish coastal sand between my toes. It doesn't get much more down to earth than this. It's a sweet life we live, here in limbo. It feels as if Life is happening somewhere else, in some metropolis thousands of miles away - but here; Oh, here. Here, the sea rises up into the sky, and we stroll through the mist to get to where we're going. We say hello to our neighbours, we consider our baristas as friends.
It is the hardest part of my life, deciding to leave this place.
It is the hardest part of my life,
deciding to stay.

I stayed too long
I didn't know
where I was going
but it wasn't far
I took the long way.

. [Go, I don't love you any more.]

Once, I vowed never to be content. Am I doomed to be ever torn?
They say you should be careful what you wish for,

and I wouldn't change a thing.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host