Winter

Winter is gentle on the coast. The snow turns to rain as it falls, warmed by the radiating heat of young love and hope and dreams in the city. The sounds of crawling traffic and frustrated travelers and colliding cars as shoppers rush home with their presents are replaced with the honest swinging sounds of singing dancing young people who have nothing to prove.

Winter was once lovely in the city, darling.
The snow was at our feet and in the street and in the sky.
And you always knew a perfect place where we could hide
and spend all of our time falling in love,
just you and I.


Summer loving is fervent, and will have you chasing that perfect initial high for the rest of your entwined days; but winter loving, oh, winter loving is slow and oh so easy. It's effortless to fall in love when the whole world is filled with love and excited to share it. Snowflakes in the air, beauty everywhere, yuletide by the fireside and joyful memories there.

Now I don't understand why we're so far apart,
all these streets and doors and harbours
between our hearts
If this world were a never ever ever ending night,
then you would be my light,
then you would be my light.


The year will be new in more ways than the calendar can count. Every day a new adventure, every second a new second worth falling in love with. I can see us dancing, dancing, dancing, as I try to forget a time when life was a dance and he sang the melody.

I was born on Wednesday in a town that you aren't from.
I was born with thighs and toes and feet and lips and love, love, love.
So I can't bear the thought that all we've built is quickly blowing by.
The seasons change, but days remain and hang out in our eyes.


And I don't know what's not here for you,
but oh,
I am.


How merry, how bright. I can see us dancing, dancing, dancing, as we fall in love and lose the beat. I can see us surrounded by friends and the easy swinging sounds of singing dancing young people. I can see us talking, laughing, kissing, ever warmed by the radiant glow of young love and hope and dreams.
Winter is gentle on the coast,
and you're gentle on the heart.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host