Bulletproof

My god is a benevolent one.
A god that never gives more than I can handle wouldn't ever help me to learn and grow, but my god always gives me more than I think I can handle and watches me prove myself wrong. I have been down to rock bottom so many times, and I have learned how much I have to give by giving everything I am over and over, and there is more of me every time. And each time I emerge from the depths, the sun seems to shine a little brighter, the air is a little sweeter, and I love a little deeper. And throughout it all, the universe - my god - delivers just desserts to those who deserve them, and pennies to let me know that I'm on the right path. Life is sweet and god is good.

I don't know where life will take me next, but I have endured the sufferings of unconditional love this fall, and oh, how I have fallen. Oh, how you have beaten me over and over again. So, where do we go from here?
I am sick of your abuse, and tired from enduring your remorselessness. I don't know what will become of you and I, and I hope that one day soon I will come to find out. But for now...

I am ready to fall in love with a perfect stranger who makes me laugh and believes in my dreams and doesn't make me feel weak. I am ready for a fresh slate and the kind of exhilarating stunning happiness that I know so intimately.
I am ready to ride the elevator up from the basement,
and go back to living in the sky.

Lalalalalalala, life is wonderful.

I took a chance,
I took a shot,
and you might think that I'm bulletproof,
but I'm not.

You took a swing,
I took it hard,
and down here from the ground,
I see who you are.

I take a step back,
let you go.
I told you I'm not bulletproof,
now you know.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host