atheists are misunderstood

And I will look around, and I will know that I have arrived.
I tell him this, and he scoffs. It is in this moment when I realise that the self-empowerment sought by women is really only understood by other women.

I haven't arrived yet, but I have a pretty good idea of where I'm headed, and for now, that's enough.

In the science department, they sit you down and tell you what the world is made of. Then they find out if you understand what they just said by asking you many questions about many things, and then they ask them forwards, backwards, and in Cyrillic.
They have classes that everyone says are designed to weed people out. Weed. Like parts of the global science garden that they don't want anymore.
If you dig deeper into the garden, you can find special people who will offer their hand and invite you to come exploring. If you ask the right questions, you will touch a piece of the world that no being has ever touched before. You will be in a unique situation.
The part that weeds people out is the cold and calculating surface.

In the business department, they invite you in to a room to meet with other people, and they ask you who you are. With the other people, you discuss who you are, who they are. You dream up ways to change the world, and you encourage one another. You laugh. You joke. You go to the bar with your professor and talk about life and how it's all about how we all come together.

And if I'm lucky, I will spend my life ensuring others that everything will be all right. And I will tell them that I have faith. And I will ask them to go exploring.
And I will dig up the concrete that separates the science from the non-scientists,
and I will show everyone
all that I find,
and I will show everyone
that we were all scientists all along,

and I will thank everyone,

for the beautiful journey.


back | forth
latest | archives | profile | notes | art | host